Carboy Washer

Interesting project I found on youtube.com Wile preparing and repairing all my brewing gear. One item i have lacked is a keg washer. While serving beer in kegs is the most efficient way for me. I have not had an efficient way to clean kegs.

  • 600 gal/hour pond pump
  • 3/4″ pipe (2 ft section cut to size)
  • 1/2″ pipe (2 ft section cut to size)
  • 3/4″ T fitting
  • 3/4″ cross fitting
  • 3/4″ slip to 1/2″ threaded elbow
  • 3/4″ to 1/2″ reducer
  • Two 3/4″ caps
  • Male 1/2″  threaded to 3/8″ barb
  • 3/8″ tubing cut to size
  • 3/8″ barbed T fitting
  • Two 3/8″ barbed swivel nuts
  • Six worm clamps
  • CO2 and liquid keg disconnects
  • Two five-gallon buckets
  • Lid with 6″ diameter hole

 

I use one step cleaner as part of my cleaning process. Having a setup similar to this would be ideal for a small brew-house setup. I found Matt’s  Matt’s Keg Washer on the American Homebrewers Association website.

Made a visit to the hardware store . I am in the market for a small pond pump. I am going to try a smaller size pump. as i am cheap and not willing to spend 69.00 dollars. The pump I am thinking about is a 275 GPH Pump .

275-GPH Submersible Fountain Pump

  • Ideal for medium fountains
  • Adjustable flow control
  • Ideal pumping height of 3 to 5-ft
  • Connects to 3/4-in or 1/2-in ID tubing
  • 16-ft cord included

Who am I kidding I think I will go with the next size up. If i am going to do this lets do it right. This Pump will be the one I get. Se ya next time.

The lift of the water will only be two feet . I already have the buckets and the PVC so i should be ready to put it all together.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Very cool, nice work on the carboy cleaner!

    Like

Leave a Reply

